ROMY AND MICHELE’S HIGH SCHOOL REUNION

PLOT SUMMARY: Two dim-witted, inseparable friends hit the road for their ten-year high school reunion and concoct an elaborate lie about their lives in order to impress their classmates.

WHERE TO WATCH: Hulu

JAIMEE’S NOTES: HEY EVERYBODY, SANDY FRINK JUST LANDED IN A HELICOPTER! Grab a business woman special and get ready to watch this absolute masterpiece! This movie is definitely in my top ten, maybe my top five. You know I love a movie about female friendship and Romy and Michele have one of the greatest friendships of our generation. This movie has perfect outfits, perfect music, perfect actors, perfection EVERYWHERE! Romy and Michele are 28 year olds living in Venice Beach together when they learn about their ten year high school reunion, from their old classmate, Heather Mooney. Side note, Janeane Garofalo is so fucking funny, she is the best. Romy realizes when they are filling out their questionnaires that their lives don’t sound as impressive as they think, so they decide to get boyfriends, jobs, and get skinny in two weeks. As much as they try, it doesn’t really pan out. So they decide to do the next best thing and lie. Romy comes up with the idea that they should say they invented post-it’s and her and Michele end up having a fight about their cover story lie. Everything comes to a head at the reunion in Tucson where they run into the A group, Romy’s crush Billy, and Sandy Frink, the boy who was obsessed with Michele among others! You don’t know how many times I’ve said, “If anybody needs to make a call, I’ve got a phone.” Anyway, everything works out for the best when Romy and Michele just decide to forget about everyone else and just be their true authentic selves. The dance at the end of the reunion is incredible, if I ever get married I am making my groom and my maid of honor learn and perform that dance with me. What a treat. This movie just makes me so, so happy and full of joy. Please enjoy watching! ….would you excuse me, I cut my foot before and my shoe is filling up with blood.

Leave a comment