HONEY, I SHRUNK THE KIDS

PLOT SUMMARY: The scientist father of a teenage girl and boy accidentally shrinks his and two other neighborhood teens to the size of insects. Now the teens must fight diminutive dangers as the father searches for them.

WHERE TO WATCH: Disney+

JAIMEE’S NOTES: I was not enjoying my structured Disney order prison that I put myself in, and then I remembered I can do whatever I want! I make the rules around here! And I want to go on a journey, a journey…..with Rick Moranis. This was definitely my favorite trilogy as a seven year old. What a concept to think what would happen if I was thiiiiiisss small. And why was Wayne Szalinski even inventing this machine? Did we ever even figure that out? What was his end game? Guess what, in this movie, it doesn’t matter. I feel like the job of inventor was popular in the 80s and 90s, what happened to all of the inventors? I need to get in the field and resurrect that one from the dead, then I can have a Pee-Wee’s Playhouse house like they all seem to have, like she has to pull off a receipt paper to get a message from her dad who is upstairs? Cell phones really solved so many 90s problems, it’s not even funny. Poor little attention seeking Nick and older sister Amy live with their inventor dad, Wayne, and their mom, realtor Diane. Wayne and Diane have an awkward thing going on? Like do they hate each other? Why are we mad? Is it because of all the inventing? Wayne seems to be having a rough time trying to make his new machine work, it won’t shrink stuff, it just blows it up! Damn! The next door neighbors who have seemingly the exact same house….are the Thompson’s! We have dad Big Russ, mom Mae, and brothers Little Russ and Ron. Little Russ is so cute, I remember having a crush on him, how could you not after this movie!? Amy, on the other hand, has never noticed her neighbor and is waiting for some other boy to call her and ask her to go to the dance. She’s practicing her dancing while she is cleaning their filthy house. Big Russ and fam are packing for a camping trip and Ron decides to hit a baseball through the Szalinski’s window. Amazingly, it hits Wayne’s machine and makes it instantly work. Would you look at that! Little Russ makes Ron go to the house with him to tell the Szalinski’s that he broke their window and to get his baseball. Ron and Nick go upstairs and ope, the machine gets ‘em! Amy and Russell go upstairs to look for the boys and the same thing happens to them. The machine shrinks them I mean, they don’t blow up. Wayne comes home frustrated and starts to hit the machine, he then sweeps up his mess and his kids and neighbor’s kids and puts them in a garbage bag waaaay back by the garage which is the other side of the yard. The only one that really knows what’s going on here and is the hero many, many times throughout the movie is their dog, Quark. I thought they were calling him Cork the whole time, I had to look that one up. The two sets of parents realize their kids are missing but it takes Wayne awhile to figure out what exactly happened and then he has to break the news to the rest of the parents. The kids have to make their long journey through the jungle that is their un-mowed lawn. They battle multiple bugs, the sprinkler, the mower, and they almost get eaten! But they also make new friends and maybe fall in love? Get it, Amy! This is such a great movie and I cannot wait to continue on this journey…..next month!

Leave a comment