THE JINX & THE JINX-PART TWO

PLOT SUMMARY: Filmmaker Andrew Jarecki examines the complicated life of reclusive real estate icon Robert Durst, the key suspect in a series of unsolved crimes.

WHERE TO WATCH: Max

JAIMEE’S NOTES: All the way back in 2015, there was a little documentary about the life and deaths of Robert Durst. Deaths meaning, he was accused of killing three people all in separate situations. Robert was a real estate heir who was thought to have killed his wife in New York, his friend in Beverly Hills, and his neighbor in Galveston, Texas. The disappearance of his first wife, Kathie, was talked about in depth in New York City at the time and a filmmaker, Andrew Jarecki, made a film based on the events with Ryan Gosling and Kirsten Dunst called All Good Things, which will definitely be a movie of the week sometime! Then, Andrew started making this documentary and Robert, stupidly, agreed to be interviewed several times for the documentary. I can’t think of many other documentaries where the accused person so willingly chose to be involved when it was about murders he may have committed. It’s like OJ writing If I Did It, like sure, just put yourself right in the middle, no one will suspect a thing! Robert is an odd man so this made the documentary very interesting and the finale of the first part is riveting, maybe one of the most compelling documentary episodes I have ever seen. I mean, talk about a bombshell! And now, nine years later, we get to see the ramifications of that first part. Because, trust me, there were ramifications. I have been excited about this part two coming out since I heard about and re-watched part one in anticipation. This is probably one of my top five documentaries and I do recommend it quite often. It’s kind of just insane to see how Robert Durst’s brain works and how smart he thinks he is. Also the way he kept people around himself, whether it was because he was rich or known to others is fascinating. I’ve watched the first episode of part two and I am already so into this next installment! I highly recommend tuning in. There is a short recap at the beginning of part two, but I think it’s worth it to watch the first part if you haven’t seen it. The remaining episodes come out every Sunday night at 9 PM central time. Let’s all watch and discuss, people. I love to discuss some true crime!

Leave a comment